Shopping Trip

I woke up this morning for day 1 and totally forgot I was doing the challenge.  As I was munching on my usual raw, organic almonds ($12.99 a pound), my husband gently reminded me that I was quickly eating my way through 4 bucks a day.  Woops.

I quickly realized I had nothing I could eat so I trekked down the street to my local dollar store.

I bought so much more than I thought I could get on 4 bucks a day (which is $20 total since I am doing this for 5 days).  I ended up spending $20 even, but will have to break down every meal since, for example, the loaf of bread costs $1.00 but I will not be eating it all at once- 2 slices cost about .10.  For $20 I got:

  • can of baked beans
  • 6 ramen noodles
  • 4 zucchini’s
  • 2 packs of instant butterscotch pudding
  • 1 box of scalloped potatoes
  • 1 bag of red potatoes
  • 1 bag of bananas (6)
  • loaf of wheat bread
  • 1 pack of hot dogs (the only meat they sold)
  • box of instant oatmeal
  • 1 gallon milk
  • bag of frozen blackberries
  • jar of blackberry jam
  • jar of peanut butter
  • package of frozen acai smoothie  packages (not sure why this is at a .99 store)
  • can of corn and can of mixed veggies
  • bag of baby carrots (I was so happy to buy these)
  • can of Spaghetti O’s (with meatballs)

That is a lot of food for 20 bucks.  At first glance, this seems really easy.  I can eat this stuff for a few days and it will be plenty.  If I eat it all and nothing else, I will have spent no more than 4 bucks a day for 5 days.  But I will also have eaten very few fresh items and much of what I bought has added high fructose corn syrup in it. I don’t really like pb&j sandwiches, milk or hot dogs.  Canned veggies are gross.


And after opening my bananas, they are mostly rotten and the zucchini has fuzzy mold all over them.

This might not be as easy as I thought…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

